Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Pop Dr(((O)))nes: Episode 66

After reading about it on Still Single, Weird Canada, 20 Jazz Funk Greats, Wire Magazine and a rave review on Mimaroglu (he apparently bought up a 1/3 of the 100 available cassettes for his site), I finally managed to grip this debut tape by local unknown No UFOs. The name seems to be gripped from a Model 500 song, an early alias of techno legend Juan Atkins (touchstones of the electro-funk track can be heard on the tape). Soft Coast is one of those rare releases that defies easy categorization. Songs switch course just as soon as the get under yr skin, from bouncy Cluster-style kraut riddims to Analord-era Aphex Twin acid to Faust IV sheets of guitar and then drifting into lulling ambience. All of it seamlessly patched together on a 30 minute cassette that'll have a tough time leaving the deck. There's certainly a reason that many cassettes will remain on that format, but Soft Coast is one of those rare tapes that demands a vinyl release. The cassette is long sold out from the source, but looks like the fine folks over at Tomentosa have the last copies. Highest recommendation is bestowed upon this release along with a plea that someone get this to vinyl asap. New releases by Prairie Fire and some possible recordings to be issued by unnamed US labels are being worked on for later this year/early next year. You'll definitely be hearing about those here. Nice Up International, run by Konrad of No UFOs, also have some releases in the works. Keep an eye on the label's website for more.

The Fresh & Onlys "Red Light Green Light" Play It Strange LP (In The Red) 2010
Broken Water "Nothing Ever Happened" s/t 7" (Fan Death) 2010
Brain Idea "Days Blown Away" Survival Scrolls LP (Permanent) 2010
Purling Hiss "Passenger Queen" Hissteria LP (Permanent) 2010
The Ether "Siamese" Folly CDR (Patente) 2010
Bitches "Sleepwalk" s/t 7" (self released) 2010
Prince Rama "Thunderdrums" Shadow Temple LP (Paw Tracks) 2010
Wet Hair "Blessed" split w/Peaking Lights 7" (Not Not Fun) 2010
Iibiis Rooge "Coro-Coro" s/t LP (Dekorder) 2010
No UFOs "side A" Soft Coast CS (Nice Up Intl.) 2010
Tassels "The Brethren Of Purity" The Rosicrucians CS (Digitalis) 2010
Evan Caminiti "Glowing Sky" West Winds LP (Three Lobed) 2010
Ossining "Go For Pinks" I Will Be Missed LP (Digitalis) 2010
Xela "Of The Light And Of The Stars" Of The Divine LP (Dekorder) 2010, *reissue of 2009 CS on Digitalis Limited

DOWNLOAD EPISODE 66 here (right click link, the Save As)

No comments: