Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Pop Dr(((O)))nes: Episode 41

Pocahaunted has done a major line-up change over the last year and It's Real showcases the band revamping their sound almost completely. Cameron Stallones (aka Sun Araw) has joined the band and added his sun-dappled touch, and they've also added Britt Brown (Robedoor/NNF headmaster), Diva Dompe (Blackblack), M. Geddes Gengras (who also produced the LP), and, of course, Phaunt's mainstay Amanda Brown. Anyone who has been paying attention to the few live tracks that've leaked since the rebirth back in 2009 will notice them in a new and cleaned up form. If you haven't checked out the new lineup and maybe weren't a fan to begin with, then now might be the time to re-investigate. Pocahaunted now spew a mighty funk-laden and groove heavy rhythm, complete with actual lyrics. That's right, long gone are the days of the hypnotic chant'n'drone. Fans of Sun Araw and his otherworldly reggae riddims will have plenty to eat up. One of 2010's early highlights. 500 pressed on LP and sure to be gone soon...

Goaty Tapes has just dropped a nice batch of sonic intrigue and, as usual, the packaging on these cassettes is top notch. First up is Columbus Ohio's El Jesus De Magico who are quick to follow up on last year's excellent LP on Columbus Discount. If you were diggin' the basement scuzz and deranged motorik garage moves of that full length, then this here cassette will be a nice follow up. Two separate editions of 100 that'll surely be gone in a flash.

Trudgers hails from Murrieta, California and this tape on Goaty appears to be one of several recent releases (cassette already released on the up and coming Hi Shadow). This appears to be a one man affair and he covers the same goth-y/industrial soundscapes as Cold Cave (the early years) and Blessure Grave. Hell, there are even some Flux Information Sciences moments here (check the track played in this episode) .With a deep baritone and a backing of industrial tics, plodding bass and an assortment of warped synths, Trudgers is a fitting addition to the recent wave of neo-goth musicians.

I've been championing HNY on this blog for some time and her newest cassette on Goaty is more cause for spreading the faith. This is fairly distanced from the more mystical and lighter affair that earlier had me drawing comparisons to Grouper. The vocals are usually clear and raw rather than shrouded in delay and grey effects, though some creepy layering is used to flesh everything out. Ominous drum machines and metallic scrapes and stabs commingle together to create an (occasionally) horrifying soundtrack. Nice to see HNY has some flex in her. Excited to hear the next left turn...

Higuma is the duo of Evan Caminiti of Barn Owl and his musical associate Lisa McGee, who have previously released a CDR on the Root Strata label. And, much like their first release, this new LP on Digitalis is painfully limited. Sadly, you'll have to seek this one out on ebay or an MP3 blog to get a hold of this, as this sucker was out of print within a week. Anyways, fans of the desert-y folk side of Barn Owl will be primed for this release.

Mist are the duo of Sam Goldberg (head of Pizza Night tapes) and John Elliot (Emeralds), who have released some limited cassettes in the past. This time, however, Amethyst Sunset, for their second release, dropped this on LP, which is housed in a beautiful gloss cover with a fitting cover shot. The A side is a one-long track of near-ambient synth work, while the B-Side is several tracks of percolating analog bubblebaths. Head to AQ immediately for one of the last copies available.

Pocahaunted "Save Yourself (It's Nice)" It's Real LP (Not Not Fun) 2010
Veronica Falls "Starry Eyes" s/t 7" (Captured Tracks) 2010
Bare Wires "Artificial Cool" Artificial Cool CS (Southpaw) 2010
Bare Wires "Keep Your Cool" s/t 7" (Southpaw) 2010
Nothing People "Marilyn's Grave" Soft Crash LP (S-S) 2010
White Hills "Three Quarters" s/t LP (Thrill Jockey) 2010
El Jesus De Magico "Half Face/Our Sweden II" Ragtime Hors CS (Goaty) 2010
Trudgers "Star Crossed Klutz" Bedrooms On Fire CS (Goaty) 2010
HNY "Strange Medicine In The Dark" Dead In A Year CS (Goaty) 2010
Street Drinkers "Sickness" Circles CS (Goaty) 2010
Higuma "The Ocelot" Den Of Spirits Lp (Digitalis) 2010
Mist "Taking The Mist" s/t LP (Amethyst Sunset) 2010
Passenger "612" s/t 7" (self released) 2010

DOWNLOAD EPISODE 41 here (Right Click Link, then Save As)

1 comment:

azxtlx said...

thanks. your show is a real time-saver for getting a feel for latest releases...keep up the good work